Important legal notice
es de en fr it  
Contact   |  Search   
Programmes & Initiatives  


the European Community programme in the field of higher education

Student and teacher exchanges ; joint development of study programmes; dissemination and implementation of results of CD projects;  thematic networks between departments/faculties across Europe ; language courses and intensive programmes ; European credit transfer system (ECTS): these are the activities supported by ERASMUS, the higher education chapter of the SOCRATES II programme for education in Europe.

Covering the period 2000-2006, SOCRATES/ERASMUS aims at improving the quality and the "European dimension" of higher education, including both universities and « extra-university » institutions. The participating countries are the 15 Member States of the European Union, the 3 countries of the European Economic Area (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) and all the Associated Countries in Central and Eastern Europe, as well as Cyprus and Malta.

Overall responsibility for implementing SOCRATES/ERASMUS lies with the European Commission (Directorate-General Education and Culture: Directorate A; Unit 2)

* General description of Socrates/Erasmus activities
* Information for students  
* Information for University teaching staff   
* Project and contract information for Universities  
* List of existing Socrates/Erasmus projects and participating institutions
* The New Erasmus - The Institutional Contract Reform    
* One million Erasmus students


* Studies and publications about Erasmus
* Higher Education in Europe  
* Useful links (National Agencies, Technical Assistance Office, etc)
* Special project "Tuning educational structures in Europe"  
  Press release
Last update: 19-06-2003